Popcorn Cookies

Yes, yes, these would have been super handy for the Oscars last week. It seems that timing like this is how I roll 🙂 But hey, if you’re planning a movie night or a circus theme party – I got you covered!

These cookies are super easy to make and the best part is you don’t have to buy new cutters! These were made using two cutters that you may already have:

*Cupcake cutter & Wilton Fancy Shape Cut-Out Flower Cutter

Note: My cupcake cutter has a candle included. If yours is like this, take a sharp knife and cut the candle off the cookie before baking it. If you have a cupcake cutter without a candle, perfect! I used that particular flower cutter but if you don’t have that one, any flower cutter would work.

Along with these you’ll need:

Rolled cookie dough

White royal icing

Red royal icing

Yellow food coloring

Tips #2 and 12

Piping bags

Paintbrush (a clean one used only for decorating)

Start with your cupcake cookie. Now I’ll be honest, I struggled for a while with the lines on the popcorn bin. I just couldn’t space them out properly. Then it finally hit me! If you have a cookie drying rack, use the lines on the rack to space your lines out. If you don’t have one that will work, you could always use an edible food marker to mark your lines too. I just couldn’t do that because my cookies were chocolate and therefore, too dark for any marker to show up on.

Using your drying rack as a guide (or your marked lines), pipe on four white lines like so:

Connect the white lines to form two white bands and give them arches at the top.

Flood these two white bands (Sorry, I completely forgot to take a photo of this step). Let the cookies dry for 15-20 minutes to avoid bleeding.

Then take your red icing and outline 3 red bands around the white bands. As you can see, my red icing was waaaay to watery (grrr).

Flood the red bands.

Let this part dry. In the meantime, take a piping bag and put the #12 tip in it. Using the paintbrush dipped in the yellow food coloring, draw a line down one side of the piping bag.

Fill the piping bag with thick royal icing. At first the icing will come out all white. Squeeze out the extra until it comes out both yellow and white. Then pipe different sized dots at the top of the cookie to resemble popcorn. Clean your paintbrush so it doesn’t have any coloring on it anymore. Dampen the paintbrush a bit and use it to push down the piped dots and squish them together a bit.

Once your popcorn bins are done, you can pipe white and yellow dots on the smaller (flower) cookies.

If you want to go the extra step, you could always pipe “POPCORN” on the cookies or names for a great personalized party favor! Enjoy folks!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Jill

     /  May 7, 2012

    These are amazing! Popcorn is my favorite food (cookies are second)! I stumbled across your blog on a search for surf board cookies and I am gobbling up all your posts now. I am amazed at the detail in your designs and the step-by-step tutorials make it seem do-able. Keep up the awesome work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Welcome!

    I inherited my passion for baking from the best baker and teacher I know, my grandmother Elisabeth. Today, I embark on my baking adventures with the help of my trusted sidekick, my sweet daughter Jude. Thanks for stopping by!
  • Placing an order

    I can deliver anywhere in the Detroit, MI area and ship cookies anywhere within the US. Let's chat! Send me an email at sweetlizbakes@gmail.com.
  • Visit my Facebook page!

  • Popular Posts

    • None
  • Archives

  • Dig These Blogs

  • AsSeenIn-Feb2010
ipinterest

an adventure of pinterest experiments

The Royal Cookie

A novice's adventures in royal sweets

One Tough Cookie

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

i am baker

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Bake at 350°

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Lynlees

Party, Fondant and DIY Inspiration and Tutorials

LilaLoa

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Sweetapolita

Whipping up a sweet life

The Sweet Adventures of Sugar Belle

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Sweetopia

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

CakeJournal.com

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

bakerella.com

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

