Chocolate Chip Butterscotch Cookies {The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap}

I’ve been super busy lately (ahem…holidays). The lack of a post in over a month is really, truly unforgivable. But part of that has been due to my participation in my FIRST EVER COOKIE SWAP!

Can you tell I’ve been excited to do one of these? 😉

This year, I participated in The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap of 2011! The rules were simple: make 3 dozen cookies/bars, send to 3 other bloggers, and then share your recipe with everyone. And in return, you’d receive 3 packages with different cookies. Let me tell you: I have NEVER been so excited to check my mail.  Over 22,000 cookies were sent around the world because of this swap. How awesome is that? So far I’ve received 2 awesome shipments full of goodies. Once I receive the third, I’m going to dedicate a whole post to these awesome bloggers.

For my cookies, I decided to make Chocolate Chip Butterscotch Cookies. I mean, who doesn’t love butterscotch? (This was probably also heavily influenced by the awesome batch of Butterscotch Brownies we received in the mail earlier on. Probably.)

My hubby really dug them and one of the recipient’s hubby dug them too. Must be the butterscotch that attracts hubbies. These cookies bake super big but stay super soft and scrumptious. And they’re loaded with chocolate and butterscotch chips. I ain’t fooling. Let’s get all up in there to see those chips!

Once they finished baking and cooling, I wrapped the cookies in pairs with wax paper in between them and placed them in goodie bags. Then I packaged them in holiday bins.

So go ahead, give them a try this holiday season. I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoyed the cookie swap!

Chocolate Chip Butterscotch Cookies

*Recipe adapted from The Essential Chocolate Chip Cookbook by Elinor Klivans

Ingredients:

2 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

2 sticks of unsalted butter, room temp

1 cup packed light brown sugar

12 tablespoons sugar

2 eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

22 ounces butterscotch chips

23 ounces chocolate chips

Make sure your rack is in the middle of the oven. Preheat to 350 degrees. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper or a silicone mat.

Whisk the flour, baking soda, and salt together in a bowl and set aside.

Using your electric mixer, beat the butter and sugars together until smooth on medium speed. Make sure you scrape the sides of the mixer bowl if necessary. Add the eggs and vanilla and mix until blended. Lower the mixing speed and slowly add the flour mixture until fully incorporated. Then add the butterscotch and chocolate chips in.

Drop the cookies on the cookie sheet. Your cookies should be 3 tablespoons big and set 3 inches apart. I managed to to fit 9 cookies per cookie sheet. Make sure you leave enough room because these cookies definitely enlarge while cooking.  Bake the cookies for about 14 minutes, or until golden. Let them cool for 10 minutes on the cookie sheet before transferring them to a wire rack to cool completely.

Makes about 36 cookies

I’d like to send out a big THANK YOU to Julie of the little kitchen and Lindsay of Love and Olive Oil for hosting the cookie swap and to all the bloggers that participated!

If you’d be interested in next year’s cookie swap, please feel free to visit this page to receive notifications.

Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. These were delicious…my husband ate them all up!! I didn’t even get a whole cookie 😉 I’m so glad I got your cookies! You are on my blog list on my website.

    Reply
    • sweetlizbakes

       /  January 11, 2012

      Thank you! My husband loved them as well! So glad to meet you!

      Reply
  2. YUMMM! These look so tasty!

    Reply
  1. the little kitchen » The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap Recipe Roundup Part 2

Leave a Reply

ipinterest

an adventure of pinterest experiments

The Royal Cookie

A novice's adventures in royal sweets

One Tough Cookie

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

i am baker

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Bake at 350°

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Lynlees

Party, Fondant and DIY Inspiration and Tutorials

LilaLoa

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Sweetapolita

Whipping up a sweet life

The Sweet Adventures of Sugar Belle

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Sweetopia

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

CakeJournal.com

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

bakerella.com

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

