For Mikey: Nutter Butter Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are for Jennifer Perillo’s husband. He recently passed away from a heart attack. You can read her heart wrenching post here. I cannot even begin to imagine what Jennifer is going through. My heart goes out to her and her family. It saddens me that I had to come across her wonderful blog through such a tragedy.

Her husband loved peanut butter cream pie and she encouraged everyone to make a pie and share it within someone they love. I decided to make these cupcakes and share them with my niece and nephew.

She has received an amazing outpouring of support from the blogging community. I am not huge in the blogging community. I have never met any of the people whose blogs I read. But everyday, I check in to my favorite blogs and everyday, I am inspired by them. The support that she has received has made me proud to be a spectator in that great community.

I am very late in making these and even later in sharing them with all of you. But for anyone reading this, my hope is that you are as touched as I was and that it can remind you to hold on dearly to those that you love.

NUTTER BUTTER CHOCOLATE CUPCAKES

Makes 36 cupcakes

For the cupcakes you’ll need:

2 eggs

1 1/2 cups light brown sugar

1 cup + 2 tbsp. heavy cream

1 cup butter melted

2 tsp. vanilla

4 tbsp. sour cream

2 1/4 cups flour

1/2 cup cocoa

2 1/2 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. salt

A bag of Nutter Butter Bites

Start by preheating your oven to 350 degrees. Line a cupcake pan with 12 cupcake liners. Using your mixer, whisk the eggs and sugar together until you get a smooth consistency. Add the milk, cream, butter, and vanilla and mix until combined. Then add the sour cream. In a separate bowl, sift the flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt together. All of your dry ingredients to the wet mixture. Place two Nutter Butter Bites on the bottom of each liner. Fill each liner with the batter 2/3 full. Bake for 15-18 minutes.

For the frosting you’ll need:

1 1/2 cups softened butter

18 oz. of peanut butter

3 tsp. vanilla

7 tbsp. milk

8-10 cups of powdered sugar

With your electric mixer, cream the butter and peanut butter together until you get a smooth consistency. On the lowest speed, slowly add the powdered sugar. Then slowly add the milk and vanilla to the mix. Mix until you get a smooth frosting. If it is too thick, feel free to add more milk. If it is too runny, feel free to add more powdered sugar.

Finish by frosting your cupcakes. I ran out of Nutter Butter Bites but if you have extra, feel free to experiment. Try crushing some up and adding it to the frosting. Or, top each cupcake with one. In my opinion, you can never have too much peanut butter (unless you’re allergic, of course).

*Adapted from Jessica’s recipe at How Sweet It Is. Another wonderful blog I’ve recently found and fallen in love with.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Welcome!

    I inherited my passion for baking from the best baker and teacher I know, my grandmother Elisabeth. Today, I embark on my baking adventures with the help of my trusted sidekick, my sweet daughter Jude. Thanks for stopping by!
  • Placing an order

    I can deliver anywhere in the Detroit, MI area and ship cookies anywhere within the US. Let's chat! Send me an email at sweetlizbakes@gmail.com.
  • Visit my Facebook page!

  • Popular Posts

  • Archives

  • Dig These Blogs

  • AsSeenIn-Feb2010
ipinterest

an adventure of pinterest experiments

The Royal Cookie

A novice's adventures in royal sweets

One Tough Cookie

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

i am baker

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Bake at 350°

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Lynlees

Party, Fondant and DIY Inspiration and Tutorials

LilaLoa

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Sweetapolita

Whipping up a sweet life

The Sweet Adventures of Sugar Belle

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Sweetopia

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

CakeJournal.com

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

bakerella.com

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

