Sesame Street Cookies

Remember my niece and nephew who adore Elmo? They turned two this past weekend and I made some Elmo and Cookie Monster cookies for their birthday party. Only this time, I had actual Elmo and Cookie Monster cookie cutters to work with. I tried making some Zoe cookies with the Elmo cutter but I didn’t realize that Elmo’s eyes were much higher than Zoe’s. Oh well.

Although these were more on the plain side and I was a bit rushed in making them, I was very happy with how they turned out. The colors are so bright, I can’t help but smile. I did, however, run into numerous problems with the royal icing. You can’t really tell with these pictures, but the cookies (especially the Cookie Monster ones) have lots of spots on them. Caused by either the butter soaking through or the humidity we’ve had around here. I’ve read several posts online about avoiding spots on cookies. This post by Sweetopia was especially helpful. I may try to bake my cookies just a tad longer or invest in another dehumidifier to avoid this problem in the future – it’s terribly frustrating!

The twins loved them! Apparently when my husband brought the cookies into their house, they had a fit until they could have one. And that’s all that matters!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Oh my gosh these are adorable!!! I’m so jealous..I’ve been wanting these cutters! 🙂 Great job…really really cute!

    Reply
    • sweetlizbakes

       /  January 30, 2012

      Thanks! I was lucky enough to actually have my sister-in-law pick these up for me!

      Reply
  2. These are so cute! The colors are fantastic too, so bright! : )

    Reply
  3. Dimitra

     /  January 25, 2013

    They are beautiful! How did you ice them?

    Reply
    • sweetlizbakes

       /  February 13, 2013

      Thank you Dimitra! It’s actually a combination of outlining the cookie and then flooding it, with two different consistencies. If you’re interested in learning how, Sweetopia has some great tutorials at sweetopia.net.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

ipinterest

an adventure of pinterest experiments

The Royal Cookie

A novice's adventures in royal sweets

One Tough Cookie

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

i am baker

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Bake at 350

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Lynlees

Party, Fondant and DIY Inspiration and Tutorials

LilaLoa

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Sweetapolita

Whipping up a sweet life

The Sweet Adventures of Sugar Belle

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Sweetopia

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

CakeJournal.com

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

bakerella.com

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

