I put all my pansies in one basket

What a way to wrap up the last class of the Wilton Method Course 2: Flowers and Cake Design. This cake – whew! – I definitely lost some mojo that day. The yellow and purple pansy combination just isn’t doing it for me. Perhaps it would have been better to have purple be the main color? I’m still not convinced I have the pansy method down either, they just seem too dry to me. On the way to class, the cake shifted and fell apart. Awesome. Once we were all finished struggling with the basketweave, my cake toppled over and part of it got wrecked (the part, conveniently, covered by a cascade of flowers). Fixing the wreck meant I didn’t have enough pansies left to cover the top of the cake and cover my rushed frosting job. So then I filled in the gaps with leaves. A mess I tell ya. But I’m really glad I got to learn the basketweave technique, which is really cute (when done properly). The upside is my husband’s coworkers said this was the moistest cake I’ve made so far. And it’s always nice to see an”after” photo like this:

Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. mimi

     /  March 31, 2011

    Its not cake , its a piece of art !!!

    Reply
  2. Oh my gosh how lovely!

    Reply
  3. sweetlizbakes

     /  April 3, 2011

    Thank you very much!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

ipinterest

an adventure of pinterest experiments

The Royal Cookie

A novice's adventures in royal sweets

One Tough Cookie

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

i am baker

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Bake at 350

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Lynlees

Party, Fondant and DIY Inspiration and Tutorials

LilaLoa

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Sweetapolita

Whipping up a sweet life

The Sweet Adventures of Sugar Belle

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Sweetopia

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

CakeJournal.com

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

bakerella.com

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

