Owls Galore

This week, I had the pleasure of making cookies and cupcakes for a very special birthday. I was more than thrilled, I’m on an owl kick lately – they’re just so cute!

Red velvet cupcakes with almond buttercream and chocolate chip vanilla cupcakes with vanilla buttercream. The cupcakes were topped with fondant owls and fondant 1’s.

I also made vanilla and almond sugar cookies to give away as favors.

Here they are all wrapped up and ready to go!

And finally, an owl smash cake for the special birthday girl. I used candy and pretzels so she wouldn’t have to eat fondant and have it upset her tummy.

I hope the birthday girl had a wonderful day!

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. These owl cupcakes are adorable. I’ve never worked with fondant, but should give it a try. I bet they made the party very special

    Reply
  2. sweetlizbakes

     /  February 26, 2011

    Thank you! Fondant takes some getting used to, but it’s amazing how many things you can do with it. Thanks for visiting my blog!

    Reply
  3. Heleina

     /  May 19, 2011

    How did you make the owl toppers for the cupcakes? I’m trying to learn how to do them myself but I can’t find any tutorials on it. Thanks!!

    Reply
  4. sweetlizbakes

     /  May 19, 2011

    Hi Heleina! I made the toppers out of fondant. After I rolled the fondant flat, I used cookie cutters and a sharp knife to cut out the various shapes. I’ve been getting other requests for tutorials so maybe I’ll do an owl topper tutorial soon. If you have any other questions or need more details, please let me know!

    Reply
  5. Melanie

     /  July 7, 2011

    These cupcakes are so cute! Is the base of the cupcake toppers a chocolate wafer? Or is that a dark fondant? I’ve never worked with fondant before, any tips/tricks/recipes you’d be willing to share?

    Reply
    • sweetlizbakes

       /  July 8, 2011

      The base is actually brown fondant, but it does resemble a chocolate cookie! I’ve had several requests for tutorials so right now I’m collecting thoughts on what people would like to see. Do you have anything in particular that you’d like help with?

      Reply
  6. Erika

     /  September 1, 2011

    I am wondering if you do actually create the owl tutorial – I have been looking everywhere for information about how to make fondant owls for daughter’s party next week but cannot find a book or anything – a tutorial would be great – can you give me any direction if you have not created one yourself! These are exactly what I am looking for – where do you live??? 🙂

    Reply
    • sweetlizbakes

       /  September 1, 2011

      Hi there! I’ve been a little swamped so I haven’t had a chance to throw up an owl tutorial just yet, but I promise I will in the future! I live in the Detroit, MI area. I’d be glad to make some toppers for you if you’re in need of them soon – they can always ship since the fondant tends to harden. If not, I’d be glad to answer any questions to help you along!

      Reply
  7. Amy

     /  October 13, 2011

    hey i love your owls….how did u get the eyes in the cookies to not spread? I really love them

    Reply
    • sweetlizbakes

       /  October 16, 2011

      Thank you! The spreading will really depend on the consistency of your icing. I like to follow a ten second rule when making my icing: you run a knife through the icing and if it disappears in no more or less than ten seconds, the icing is usable. If you find that you have too hard of a time making details like that with icing, you could always use edible markers to add details as well.

      Reply
  8. how did you get the owl cake in its shape?

    Reply
    • sweetlizbakes

       /  February 13, 2013

      I baked a regular 6 inch layer for the bottom and baked the top in a bowl, to give it the round shape. Then I used cake and frosting to sculpt the ears (like cake pops).

      Reply
  1. Owls Galore (via Sweet Elizabeth) « cakesandcuddles

Leave a Reply

ipinterest

an adventure of pinterest experiments

The Royal Cookie

A novice's adventures in royal sweets

One Tough Cookie

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

i am baker

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Bake at 350

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Lynlees

Party, Fondant and DIY Inspiration and Tutorials

LilaLoa

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Sweetapolita

Whipping up a sweet life

The Sweet Adventures of Sugar Belle

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Sweetopia

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

CakeJournal.com

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

bakerella.com

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

