Z is for…

Zebra!

I made these cupcakes and this cake for my brother’s girlfriend – a HUGE fan of anything zebra.

The cupcakes are chocolate chip vanilla with vanilla buttercream and fondant flowers. The cake is vanilla with chocolate mousse, vanilla buttercream, and fondant decorations.

I made the zebra topper out of fondant. I call him “The Cow That Would Be Zebra” because he started out resembling more of a cow than a zebra.

While making these I definitely had this little tune in my head: http://www.weebls-stuff.com/songs/kenya/

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. cakesandcuddles

     /  February 19, 2011

    Wow! I watched a zebra cake tutorial a while ago and have been dying to get the opportunity to try it out. Seeing this, though, puts anything that I could do to shame! Brilliant. Did you teach yourself?

    Reply
  2. sweetlizbakes

     /  February 19, 2011

    Thank you so much! This was my first go at it and this tutorial helped a lot: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zJoGKtopx3o. Make sure you watch both Steps 1 and 2. The one tricky part for me was cutting the stripes to look realistic enough.

    Reply
  3. cakesandcuddles

     /  February 19, 2011

    Funny enough, that is the exact tutorial I was talking about!

    Reply
  4. kelly

     /  May 24, 2013

    Hi i was recommended to u from tanya. I’m interested in a 2 or 3 tier zebra print cake. Colors white black and hot pink. Its a graduation cake. The party is on June 22. Could i get some prices if u are able to do this for me? Thanks a lot! Kelly

    Reply
    • sweetlizbakes

       /  May 24, 2013

      Absolutely! My buttercream cakes usually run $3.50 a slice and the fondant ones (like the zebra one) run $4.50 a slice. Feel free to send me an email at sweetlizbakes@gmail.com if you’d like to place an order.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Welcome!

    I inherited my passion for baking from the best baker and teacher I know, my grandmother Elisabeth. Today, I embark on my baking adventures with the help of my trusted sidekick, my sweet daughter Jude. Thanks for stopping by!
  • Placing an order

    I can deliver anywhere in the Detroit, MI area and ship cookies anywhere within the US. Let's chat! Send me an email at sweetlizbakes@gmail.com.
  • Visit my Facebook page!

  • Popular Posts

  • Archives

  • Dig These Blogs

  • AsSeenIn-Feb2010
ipinterest

an adventure of pinterest experiments

The Royal Cookie

A novice's adventures in royal sweets

One Tough Cookie

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

i am baker

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Bake at 350°

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Lynlees

Party, Fondant and DIY Inspiration and Tutorials

LilaLoa

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Sweetapolita

Whipping up a sweet life

The Sweet Adventures of Sugar Belle

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Sweetopia

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

CakeJournal.com

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

bakerella.com

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

