Beach Themed Cupcakes!

My friend Kristin is having a destination wedding in January. Two weekends ago, she had her shower and I had the honor of making the desert.

To go with their wedding theme, I decided to make beach themed cupcakes. It was tricky though, because she cannot have wheat. However, there’s a TON of great wheat free recipes on the internet. I made the cupcakes chocolate and used vanilla icing and fondant to decorate them.

There were two sets. The first was with blue icing and tropical flowers:

Beach Themed Cupcakes

I used my Williams Sonoma cupcake stand for this one. To make the flowers, I just used two different sized flower cutters with two fondant colors and glued them together with some water. Here’s a close up:

Close Up Of Flower Cupcake

I decorated the second set with white frosting, crushed wheat free oatmeal cookies, and fondant. I stuck a mini umbrella in each one and a flip flop on each one as well. To make it look like sand, I just crushed the oatmeal cookies, covered the cupcakes with icing, and dipped them into the cookies.

Flip Flop Cupcakes

To make the flip flops: roll out a piece of fondant and use a medium oval cutter to cut out the shape. Using a knife, cut part of the side off to make it look more like a flip flop. You flatten/shape the fondant so it doesn’t have any rough edges. Then you can use fondant or icing to make the straps. I used icing and star confetti to decorate. And voila! It’s a flip flop cupcake!

Flip Flop Close UpFlip Flop Cupcake Close Up

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Welcome!

    I inherited my passion for baking from the best baker and teacher I know, my grandmother Elisabeth. Today, I embark on my baking adventures with the help of my trusted sidekick, my sweet daughter Jude. Thanks for stopping by!
  • Placing an order

    I can deliver anywhere in the Detroit, MI area and ship cookies anywhere within the US. Let's chat! Send me an email at sweetlizbakes@gmail.com.
  • Visit my Facebook page!

  • Popular Posts

  • Archives

  • Dig These Blogs

  • AsSeenIn-Feb2010
ipinterest

an adventure of pinterest experiments

The Royal Cookie

A novice's adventures in royal sweets

One Tough Cookie

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

i am baker

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Bake at 350°

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Lynlees

Party, Fondant and DIY Inspiration and Tutorials

LilaLoa

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Sweetapolita

Whipping up a sweet life

The Sweet Adventures of Sugar Belle

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Sweetopia

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

CakeJournal.com

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

bakerella.com

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

