University of Michigan Cake

I spent part of the weekend making a birthday cake for my brother’s girlfriend’s brother’s birthday. Whew…that was a lot of ‘s. Since he goes to U of M, I decided to make a U of M cake for him. His name is Marc, so the theme turned out well.

He’s a huge fan of chocolate so I decided to make a chocolate cake with two layers and chocolate pudding between the two layers. I got my ingredients and pans prepped and put it to bake.

After I leveled my cakes, I filled the middle with pudding, and iced the whole cake with chocolate buttercream. I let it sit and stack in the fridge so it got nice and firm. Then I flavored the fondant and tinted two pieces yellow and blue. I decided to use the Wilton fondant this time, but I usually make my own marshmallow fondant.

Ready all the ingredients: cocoa powder, flour, baking soda, vanilla flavoring, buttermilk, eggs, butter, and sugar

Ready all the ingredients: cocoa powder, flour, baking soda, vanilla flavoring, buttermilk, eggs, butter, and sug

I've started lining my cake pans with wax paper and it has been a huge help in making sure the cake comes out clean

I've started lining my cake pans with wax paper and it has been a huge help in making sure the cake comes out clean

I rolled out a piece of white fondant and cut out a 7 inch circle for the top of the cake. I let it sit to harden a bit so it would be easier to get it on the cake. I rolled out some yellow fondant and cut out a block M, then wrote Marc on it and outlined it with black buttercream. I put the M on the white circle and let it firm up while I put the blue fondant on the cake.

I just bought a rolling fondant mat and it's a huge help when figuring out fondant size

I just bought a rolling fondant mat and it's a huge help when figuring out fondant size

The block M made of fondant and buttercream

After I put the fondant and block M on the cake, I used some yellow buttercream to pipe some extra details:

U of M Cake

U of M Cake

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

ipinterest

an adventure of pinterest experiments

The Royal Cookie

A novice's adventures in royal sweets

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

i am baker

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Bake at 350

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Lynlees

Party and Fondant Inspiration and Tutorials

LilaLoa

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Sweetapolita

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

The Sweet Adventures of Sugar Belle

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Sweetopia

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

CakeJournal.com

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

bakerella.com

Adventures With Cupcakes, Sweets, & Treats!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

